Officially confirmed: God of War Ragnarök finally lets you explore all nine worlds

God of War 2 should finally be released in November.

Kratos and Atreus are now allowed to explore all Nordic realms.

It’s done: Sony has finally given God of War Ragnarök a release date, ending the drama surrounding a postponement to 2023 that fans feared. On November 9th, the adventure of Kratos and Atreus enters the second round and ends at the same time. But what does it mean for the story that there won’t be a trilogy this time? We have now found out in a story update on the official homepage (via Playstation).

God of War Ragnarök finally opens all the gates for us

Anyone who played God of War (2018) had to accept that not all of the realms located around the Ygdrassil world tree could be entered. It was pretty obvious that the gates will only open with the sequels. Now there will only be one game left in Norse mythology, Ragnarök. Does that mean we can visit all nine worlds this time? Exactly – a new entry on the story makes it official:

Fimbulwinter is in full swing. Kratos and Atreus must travel to each of the Nine Realms in search of answers as Asgardian forces prepare for a prophesied battle that will spell the end of the world.

In addition to the dangers from outside, the focus is of course also on the relationship between Kratos and his son. As in the first part, the physical journey is synonymous with an inner development of the two, whose cohesion will be put to the test:

The latest trailer shows the wolf Fenrir:

God of War Ragnarok - New trailer teases first boss


God of War Ragnarok – New trailer teases first boss

The map already indicated it: It is not really surprising that in God of War Ragnarök all gates will open and we will soon be able to explore Vanaheim, Svartalfheim and Asgard. As Sony Santa Monica recently revealed, the so-called Jötnar Edition will contain a map. The nine kingdoms are shown on this, which already gave an idea that these will also be available in the game. So now it’s official.

More God of War Ragnarok news:

Therefore there is only one sequel: As said before, God of War Ragnarök will bring our favorite Spartan’s journey to the frigid north to a close. The reason that there won’t be another trilogy is the longer development times of new games. According to Sony Santa Monica, they would have had to work 15 years on the story of Kratos and Atreus if there had been a third part. And so we can already see the end of the saga this November.

Which world are you most looking forward to in God of War Ragnarok?