Diablo 2: Resurrected: Terror Zones is now on the PTR

Diablo 2: Resurrected: "Big feature" should be presented this week

from Sarah Petzold
Fear and terror reign on the PTR of Diablo 2 Resurrected: The developers have released a new feature with patch 2.5, the so-called terror zones. We explain to you in our news what exactly it is all about.

Anyone who wants to reach the magical mark of level 99 with their own character in Diablo 2 Resurrected does so primarily through constant new battles against the offspring of evil, namely Diablo, Baal and Nihlathak. But the developers soon offer an alternative to this repetitive grind: With Patch 2.5, a new feature comes into play, the so-called terror zones – and they can already be played on the test server.

Stronger monsters scale with your level

According to the developers, the Terror Zones will offer players a new challenge on their way to level 99. The feature can be activated in the game as desired and remains completely optional. If you have activated the terror zones for your game, the following happens:

  • For one hour, the demon armies will attack specific zones in the game. When the hour expires, a message appears in the chat and the terror zone changes.
  • Monsters in the Terror Zones are at least two levels higher than your character’s current level or their original level.
  • You get experience and loot according to the higher monster level and get additional XP.
  • You can tell whether you are in a terror zone by a symbol next to the monster’s name, by an overlay on the map, by a notification sound and by a corresponding screen text.
See also  Activision Blizzard: CEO Bobby Kotick to stay vote shareholders

How much stronger the monsters become depends on the difficulty level and the monster type. Specifically, you can deal with the following terror monsters:


  • Base: +2 levels to level 45
  • Champion: +4 levels to level 47
  • Unique: +5 levels to level 48


  • Base: +2 levels to level 71
  • Champion: +4 levels up to level 73
  • Unique: +5 levels to level 74


  • Basic: +2 levels to level 96
  • Champion: +4 levels to level 98
  • Unique: +5 levels to level 99